A Girlfriend trial and being put into boxes

Standard
A Girlfriend trial and being put into boxes

A gay girl friend of mine hit on me in a drunken state one night in rural Thailand I wasn’t sure what to do about it. I was in another country and no one knew me. It is that great feeling you have when you are travelling that you could be anyone you want to. Well on this occasion I was drunk enough to be inquisitive and slept with said friend we will call her B. It was a strange feeling although if you have read some of my other blogs you will know that it wasn’t my first time with a women although it was my first time with just the two of us in a room.

When I woke up the next morning with B laying next to me I got up and got in the shower. I sat in that shower for 30 minutes or so trying to process what I had done, what it meant and what was going to happen next. After 30 minutes I was still no closer to an answer. That weekend I had plans with Miss J and met her for some adventures in Koh Chang. Miss J knew me very well and instead of pushing me she let me stew in my own head for a couple of days before pinning me down and asking me what was up. Miss J gave me some great advice she said that she didn’t believe in labels and that because I liked B didn’t mean that I was Gay, Straight or Bi-sexual it just meant that I was me. She said that I am the type of person that loves people for who they are and not their sex, religion, colour or anything else.

B and I did see each other for a few months and we had some fun – she turned out to be a bit of a nutter but that is beside the point. I have never been with another women since. I can safely say that I do like cock. I now I have had the girlfriend experience and if I met another women that interested me and blew me away like she did then I wouldn’t discount the option but I also wouldn’t go out looking for it.

This got me thinking about labels and why we as a society we feel we need labels to define us. Labels are there to put people in a box. What if I don’t want to be in a box? There are so many boxes that people put themselves and others into. There are a number of boxes I would like to redefine including sexuality, relationship status and religion.

Lets take the relationship status box for example – just because I am not physically with someone anymore apparently means that I am single but what if I don’t feel like it? What if I am still in love with that person? – nope as far as the rest of the world is concerned you are single and therefore you should be over or getting over that person.

Sexuality for example – most girls at some point in their lives have kissed another girl be it for another man or not. Does this make you gay? Properly not but I bet you didn’t hate it either? Some men are so against kissing other men they are predefined to not like it but if they opened their minds would they?

And religion…I know your all thinking if your religious you are in a box? But after your in that box you then have to pick another box and choose your religion. Me for example I say I am religious, I was brought up Christian but I don’t say I am Christian now. I have travelled so much and met so many interesting people from all over the world from many many different religions I cannot simply say that one religion is far more superior than the other. I like sections from each and take comfort and practice different particulars of each.

I challenge you to think about the boxes you put yourself in and decide if you want to be in that box?

Leave a Reply

